The Historic Exhibition Gardens were built in the early 1930’s at the Springs. These extensive gardens were once a showcase of Tasmanian flora which was much loved and visited by locals and tourists alike.
The gardens were originally built at the behest of a group led by the architect Alan Walker and Hobart Council Clerk Mr. A. W. Cecil Johnston, using funds raised at the Art, Antique and Historical Exhibition held in Hobart City Hall in 1931. The purpose of the exhibition was to provide money for work for the unemployed.
The photo above is of a rhododendron remnant at the Springs, one of a group of plants originally supplied by Frank Walker to Alderman Shoobridge.
Our document outlining the history of the Gardens is available here.